Quick and Easy Pizza Dough

_dsc0405(Pictured above is 1/4 of the total dough mixture, and makes a personal size pizza.)

One of my fondest memories as a little girl was when my mom worked at a local pizzeria in town. Not only did they have the best pizza, and Greek Salad in town, they also had the best sweet tea you could find in central Florida. I remember I would go in and ask the cook for some pizza dough, and he always gave me some. So today after I made my ball of dough, the smell brought me back to the time when I grew up at that local pizzeria. They have since moved, and recipes have changed, but the one thing that remains is their amazing Greek salad, and sweet tea.

Throughout this pregnancy I have craved pizza the most, even when I didn’t want to eat anything, or keep anything down, pizza was/ is always on my mind. So I found a quick and pretty easy pizza dough recipe that I am excited to share with you._dsc0378

Today I invited my mom over to make pizza today, and she was in for a surprise when I told her it was going to be from scratch. She said, “I’ll cut, and you do the dough, because I’m no good at that stuff.” I was okay with that because this was my first time making it and I wanted to either succeed or fail. And I’ll tell you this was a success._dsc0383

With the amount of dough this recipe makes, you can make one large pizza, two medium pizzas, 4 personal pizzas, or 12 mini pizzas. Today we just did the 4 personal, and only made two and saved the rest for later. (Probably dinner or lunch again tomorrow.) This recipe is so easy it took me no more then 10 minutes to prepare my dough.

_dsc0386

On my pizza this afternoon I added pizza sauce, shredded mozzarella Cheese, tomatoes, basil, Real mozzarella slices, pepperoni, goat cheese, and after I cooked the pizza I added Balsamic Glaze.

My mom’s pizza included Extra Pizza sauce, mozzarella cheese, pepperoni, tomatoes, onions, Red Bell peppers, and mozzarella slices.

For Brantley’s pizza were simply sauce, shredded mozzarella, and pepperoni. (Pictured)_dsc0395

Let’s get started shall we?

What you will need:

  • 1 (.25oz) pkg active dry yeast
  • 2 ½ -3 cups of all purpose flour
  • 2tbsp granulated sugar
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 cup Hot water
  • Your favorite pizza toppings

What you need to do

  1. In a large mixing bowl (no mixer needed) add in your Hot water (approx 100 -110 degrees Fahrenheit) Sugar, and yeast. Mix together well until it becomes frothy.
  2. Add in 2 ½ cups of flour, your salt, and olive oil mix with a wooden spoon, or your hands (Tip if your going to mix with your hands be sure to dust flower on your hands so the dough does not stick to your hands while mixing.) Mix until a soft dough forms, dough should be fairly firm. If not mix in an additional flour a tbsp at a time, until it is no longer sticky. If it’s to dry, mix in additional water a tbsp at a time until it forms a good dough.
  3. Set oven to 425
  4. Dust counter with flour, and roll dough into a ball. Keep one big ball for a large pizza, cut in half for two medium pizzas, cut into fourths for individual pizzas or twelfths for mini pizzas.
  5. Let dough rest 3-5 minutes while you gather your toppings.
  6. Roll dough to desired thickness and shape. Top with your favorite toppings, and bake for 8 to 10 minutes. Or until browned and toppings are bubble. (I coated my cookie sheet with olive oil, and dusted with a little extra flour (not a lot) to keep my pizza from sticking. You can also cook this on a pizza stone dusted with flour.)
  7. Once done, cut and enjoy.

I hope you all try this and enjoy it just as much as Brantley, Mom, and I did. I had so much fun getting my hands dirty with the recipe.

Additionally: You can store unused dough in a zip-lock bag coated with olive oil in the fridge for 3 days, and in the freezer for about a month.

Until Next time!

Bethany

One thought on “Quick and Easy Pizza Dough

  1. Pingback: Taco pizza remake

Leave a Reply

