Pasta with Creamy butternut squash. 

Well here in Florida some days it feels like fall and other days you still feel like your in a sauna 24/7.

But I want it to feel like fall as much as possible, and nothing says fall better than butternut squash. Now I’m going to be honest. This is the first time I’ve ever had this type of squash. Growing up everyone made squash to be a “tasteless, or gross” veggie. But I’ve found I actually like the squash family and am looking forward to exploring them more.


I wasn’t to sure how this was going to turn out considering I’d never even made let alone taste, butternut squash before. And with all the different ways it’s can be made, that made it a little intimidating. But I pulled up my big girl britches, dove right in, and I was inspired.

What I noticed with this is they only asked for 2 spices/ herbs. And the reason that is, is because the squash itself has such full flavor you don’t need much else to add to the flavor. It does have a little nutty flavor, but don’t let that keep you from trying this scrumptious meal.

This was also my first time working with sage, and I have to say that this herb is underrated. It’s not used often in everyday recipes, or maybe I just haven’t really discovered what I can do with it. It has a strong flavor and odor that is earthy and warm. And it pairs perfectly with the butternut squash.


Ok now for the fun part! The what, and how I made this meal happen.

Tips:

1. prep all of your food before you cook. I’ve never thought about this, but today I told myself that I should cut up all my stuff then start cooking. This saved me time, and from burning/ and overcooking my onions.

2. You will need to cut your squash in half, scoop out the seeds and peel prior to dicing. This make it easier to cut.

3. Slice your garlic, don’t dice/mince. It keeps the rich flavor of the garlic that you want.

What you will need

  1. 2 tablespoons of butter
  2. 1 butternut squash or approx. 3 cups when diced
  3. 1 cup of diced onions
  4. 1 clove of garlic
  5. 3 leaves of fresh sage copped fine
  6. 1 tablespoon of fresh chopped thyme ( you can use dried, but it has less flavor.)
  7. 1 cup of chicken stock
  8. 1/2 cup of milk
  9. Parmesan cheese
  10. Parsley fresh chopped for garnish

What you do: 

  1. Prep all your supplies. Peel and Cut your squash in half and scoop out the seeds. Dice your onions and garlic.
  2. Put your butter and onions into your pot, sauté until onions are soft and clear.
  3. Add in your garlic, stir and sauté for about 30 seconds
  4. Add in your squash, sage, thyme and chicken stock, stir and let cook until the squash becomes fork tender.
  5. While your squash is cooking start your pasta according to box directions, but don’t overcook.
  6. When the squash is tender take, and put into a food processor with the milk, and blend until it’s creamy and smooth.
  7. Place your sauce back into your pot, and after you’ve drained the pasta add to the sauce and mix well.
  8. Top with Parmesan cheese, and parsley.
  9. And enjoy!

Additionally, I also cooked some chicken breast knowing my husband wouldn’t be filled with just the pasta. Seasoned with salt, pepper, garlic, oregano, and basil. Put in the oven at 475 for 30 minutes.

Verdict from an almost 2 year old. He had 2 toddler sized portions, and kept coming after my plate for more.

I hope you enjoy this meal as much as I did.

Until next time,

Bethany ❤

Leave a Reply

