Fall Chili

It’s almost fall!! And due to recent weather it’s been rainy, and dreary, so I decided to make my fall chili a couple weeks early. Growing up I remember that chili was my favorite meal, probably one of the only things I ate left overs of.

A couple years ago, I looked up a Cincinnati chili recipe because spaghetti  with chili sounded good. However I found that i liked some of the flavors, more than the others, so instead of full blow Cincinnati chili, I came up with fall chili. Only adding in the spaghetti and cinnamon, that’s where the comparisons end.

I only make my fall chili from fall until the end of December. Why you ask? Well it’s got a fall feel to it, and if I made it throughout the year, I’d be tired of it by the time fall comes around. ( I have another chili recipe for the rest of the year, I’ll be sure to post that too.)

There is something comforting about the smells, and flavors of fall. Cloves, cinnamon, allspice, pumpkin, ginger, everything that says holidays.

Chili is a wonderful food to warm you up during those cold months, which in Florida is January through March if we’re lucky! I’m just glad chili can be appreciated throughout the year.


Let’s get started!

What you need:

  • 2 lbs ground beef or turkey if you prefer.
  • 1 16 oz can of chili beans
  • 2 cans of 8oz tomato sauce (or one 15oz can)
  • 1 can 28oz diced tomatoes
  • 1 green bell pepper
  • 1 red onion
  • 3 cloves of garlic
  • Sprinkle of dried oregano, salt, pepper.
  • Cinnamon
  • Angel hair pasta (or just regular spaghetti)

What to do?

  1. Cook ground beef until brown throughout, no pink.
  2. While your meat is cooking, cut up garlic(you’ll want to mince your garlic), onion and bell pepper.
  3. Once your meat is brown, drain and add garlic to pot, for 30-45 seconds before you add your meat back into the pot. (This way you get the most flavor from your garlic).
  4. One you add the meat back add the onion and green peppers, oregano, salt and pepper.;
  5. At this time you should start your pasta. Fill a pot with water and cook till done.
  6. Add into the pot with your beef the beans, tomatoes, and tomato sauce.
  7. Cook until simmering
  8. Add in 2 teaspoons of cinnamon. Stir, and let simmer for another 10-15 minutes, stirring occasionally.
  9. When the pasta is done, remove from heat and drain all the water out.
  10. Plate your pasta, and scoop out your chili onto the pasta.
  11. Add sour cream, and garnish with cheese if you desire. (My husband likes to garnish his, where as me not so much!)
  12. I also like to sprinkle a little extra cinnamon on top for that extra flavor.
Leave a Reply

